The creation process

The African influence is strongly present in Valérie's work. The fine metal granules are still present, of course for many reminiscent of antique jewelry, but mainly for Valérie African jewelry.

 

Valérie very rarely uses the technique of sculpting jewels in wax, she does not work from 3D software and goes very little through the drawing stage. She imagines and creates each piece of jewelry by directly manipulating the metal.

 

His work is manual and closely linked, physically, to the material.

Each piece takes shape little by little through the manipulation and progressive shaping of the metal. A basic idea around a gem always changes during the creation of the gem. The final jewel invariably differs from the original project.

 

What allows Valérie to find the right place for her creativity in working with metal is the slowness of the process, the need to anneal, then beat, then to anneal the metal again to shape it. This slow imposed rhythm gives him time to think about the harmony and the details of the future jewel which takes shape little by little.

Valerie lachuer atelier fabrication d'une bague

photo credit: Lisbonbytlight

Harmony

Each part of the jewel, each detail is thought out and produced with patience to create volumes and contrasts, combining softness and luminosity.

Selection of stones, shaping of the metal, choice of size and arrangement of granules, application of different textures ... a long, patient and delicate work of research for harmony of colors, materials and volumes

Valerie Lachuer artisant d'art bijoux de createur en or

Le processus de création

L’influence africaine est fortement présente dans le travail de Valérie. Les fines granules de métal sont toujours présentes, rappelant bien sûr pour beaucoup les bijoux antiques, mais essentiellement pour Valérie les bijoux africains.

 

Valérie n’utilise que très rarement la technique de sculpture du bijou dans la cire, elle ne travaille pas à partir de logiciel 3D et passe très peu par l’étape dessin. Elle imagine et créer chaque bijou en manipulant directement le métal.

 

Son travail est manuel et très lié, physiquement, au matériau.

 Chaque pièce prend forme petit à petit par la manipulation et la mise en forme progressive du métal. Une idée de base autour d’une gemme se modifie toujours au cours de la réalisation du bijou. Le bijou final diffère invariablement du projet de départ.

 

Ce qui permet à Valérie de trouver dans le travail du métal le lieu propice à sa créativité est la lenteur du processus, la nécessité de recuire, puis battre, puis de recuire encore le métal pour le mettre en forme. Ce rythme lent imposé lui donne le temps de penser l’harmonie et les détails du futur bijou qui prend forme peu à peu.

photo credit : Lisbonbytlight

L’Harmonie

Chaque partie du bijou, chaque détail est pensé et réalisé avec patience pour créer volumes et contrastes, allier douceur et luminosité.

Sélection des pierres, mise en forme du métal, choix de la taille et de la disposition des granules, application de différentes textures…un long, patient et délicat travail de recherche d’harmonie des couleurs, des matières et des volumes